10 Year High School Reunion

 

As I get older, I find myself more and more in denial about how much older I’m actually getting. Reality hit this weekend, when I attended my 10 year high school reunion. I had the fortune of attending a high school in a very diverse city, where most people had a military or government background,  so my experiences were somewhat different than most. One thing I’m grateful for, is growing up accepting and tolerant of all races, religions and self identifiers. For the past couple of weeks leading up to my reunion, my excitement was growing and most people would look at me like I was crazy when they found out I actually looked forward to seeing my old classmates. Well, the night was amazing. We all met up at a swanky little hotel on the north side of town, one of my classmates clearly has connections in high places because we were able to rent the space and utilize the bar for free! #Winning.

The best part of the night was when I realized we were all genuinely doing well in life. Some were married, had children, in their careers and several are business owners. I had a genuine interest in talking with each and every person in attendance, which definitely wouldn’t have been my maturity level 10 years ago. The highlight of my night was us all gathered around, fireball shots in hand and yelling “07” at the top of our lungs. I’m blessed to be in such an amazing space in life, alive to live these moments and looking forward to the 20 year reunion.

 

Leave a Reply

